Rhubarb Popsicles

My parents were generous enough to give me the majority of their rhubarb from their garden this year; partly because I asked nicely and partly because I expressed my children’s new addiction and I NEEDED it!

I grew up loving rhubarb pie. ( I once entered a contest as a child with a local ice cream company for a new flavor…rhubarb custard…I didn’t win…they sent me a pencil…I felt they made a BIG mistake.) Over the years all of my kids and my husband (he hails from New Mexico and never had rhubarb until he met me) have claimed rhubarb pie as their favorite.

This year, my mom gave me a handful of stalks to take home and make my pie. A few days went by and when I didn’t see a trip to the grocery store in the near future to get a pie crust I decided to make rhubarb sauce (think applesauce but only with rhubarb).

It was an instant hit with the kids so I went and got more and more to make this nutritious (I looked it up..rhubarb has tons of vitamins and health benefits) dish for the kids.

As I mentioned before, I am NOT a perfectionist. I do not measure when I cook. I have a LOT of things that do not turn out like they probably should. Over the years I have become a master at “fixing” and improvising. Anyway, when one batch of rhubarb sauce went awry when I added too much water I made popsicles.

My children were over the moon with this concept and had me check every hour or so to see if they were frozen. When they finally got one they were in agreement it was the best popsicle they ever had! The next morning they asked if they could have one if they ate all their oatmeal. I agreed and they felt they had really pulled one over on me; which they have been known to do on my really tired days (chocolate chip cookies for breakfast, sure why not).

My mother said it perfectly….”When life hands you runny rhubarb sauce, make popsicles”

Image

Recipe for Rhubarb Sauce:

  1. Add chopped up fresh or frozen rhubarb to a pot (as much as your heart desires)
  2. Add a little water (not too much if you don’t want to make popsicles)
  3. Bring to a boil and unload the dishwasher
  4. Add a couple spoonfuls of sugar to give it a little sweet taste but keep it healthy
  5. Put to simmer and stir
  6. Change a diaper, get the mail, break up an argument between the older kids
  7. Stir again and let cool. Store in refrigerator and serve cold
21 responses

  1. Hey there! I hope you don’t think I’m a complete stalker but your brother Bruce (good friends of ours) gave me your blog address and I just emailed him saying, “Your sister is FUNNY!” Seriously. Good writing is so hard to come by and you are fantastic, plus I sat here going, yep, mmm hmmm, that’s right, to everything you said in your first blog posts. You nail motherhood on the head and I laughed – maybe because it hits too close to home. I’m off to steal some rhubarb from my neighbors large supply – the popsicles sound delicious! Let me know if you ever want to talk blogging – I blog over at melskitchencafe.com (recipes mainly) and it’s fun/challenging/crazy/rewarding to juggle blogging and motherhood.

  2. Hi Mel!! Thank you so much! I know who you are, I’ve been following your blog via Facebook for the past week since this crazy idea of starting a blog hit me. My brother suggested I check you out as you are the master!!! I wrote a comment yesterday on your blog but must have forgot to hit submit (I am terrible with technology). Anyway, your site is AMAZING!! The layout, the writing, the pictures….WOW!!! I would love to talk to you and learn how you’ve done all this and what pointers you have for me! I’m embarrassed to have you read about my cooking style after seeing all of the stuff you make but glad you got a little something out of it with the popsicles!!!

  3. Pingback: Tomato Popsicles « Motherhood Is An Art

  4. Warning: I’ve never tried rhubarb. Really. I think our family needs to, this week perhaps! Your recipes sound great, and that’s a double blessing to me because food is finally appealing again after a 24-hour strike!

  5. This made me laugh Melissa because rhubarb sauce was something my Grandma Jahr was famous for. When my son was little and he went over there in the height of rhubarb season he ALWAYS came back with loose stools because she would let him eat as much as he wanted. I found out if you’re plugged up rhubarb is the answer.

    • Oh Lord!! That’s just what I need…a tribe of kids running around with loose stools!! haha!! I’ll have to remember to moderate their intake. I just made a batch of sauce yesterday and put it in their lunch today and I have popsicles waiting for them when they get home from school!

  6. I had a strawberry rhubarb pie for the first time the other day – one of our family friends brought over a meal while Lee was still in the hospital and we were all running ragged… It was awesome! I’ve never had rhubarb, and am not sure I’m adventurous enough to try and cook something with it or eat it outside a strawberry rhubarb pie! 🙂

  7. Melissa … you need to come get more Rhubarb …. i still haven’t gotten to Dad’s pie yet … I’m keeping my nose to the grindstone and trying to do what NEEDS to be done …. Pie is on Dad’s list … it’s just not on mine yet !!

  8. Oh, I love it! Your popcicles sound great. I love rhubarb in anything. Plus, your recipe sounds very practical. Your units for measuring time are very sensible.

Leave a Reply

