The Teacher Who Did a Cartwheel

This past year our oldest child, Iris, attended 1st grade. Kindergarten had been amazing for her. She had dreams of staying in Kindergarten and having her same teacher forever! Part of me (mostly all) wanted her to stay too. It was a great class filled with the most adorable children, the cutest activities and a terrific teacher!

When she started 1st grade, she was nervous and scared. She thought nothing could “top” Kindergarten and she had heard rumors 1st grade was tough! The first week, she talked incessantly about her previous teacher. She was excited when she caught glimpses of her in the hallway or if she waved at her from across the cafeteria. She wrote notes to her and had her 1st grade teacher pass them on.

After one week, this all changed. She became enamored with her new teacher and 1st grade in general! As the year went on, her teacher became very special to her… almost like a second mother.  Before Kindergarten, I had spent nearly every minute with Iris, experienced all her experiences right along with her and almost everything she knew, I had taught her. Having her away from me was hard but knowing she was in such good hands was a comfort.

Iris learned so much in school this year and most importantly she gained confidence. I credit this to her teacher. Her teacher went above and beyond any teacher I ever had. She was sweet, kind, funny and still maintained respect from her students. She did cartwheels. She had “lunch with the teacher” days, where she would pick a child and they could pick a friend and the three of them would have lunch together in the classroom (these were Iris’s favorite days!). She gave hugs. She stopped to watch Iris learning to ride her bike one day after school. She was driving past when she noticed us at a parking lot practicing (this meant the world to Iris). She wrote back to all the notes Iris wrote her.  And I mentioned, SHE DID CARTWHEELS, right? She promised she would do a cartwheel if her whole class got their spelling test correct and they did! I can honestly say, I don’t think I had a teacher who could have done a cartwheel if she wanted to!

Teachers are amazing creatures and we were lucky to have one of the best!

Image

A painting I did for Iris’s teacher. It was from a photo I took when I was there helping out.

 

10 responses

  1. so iris’s first grade teacher was passing notes to her kindergarden teacher for her. Back in my days we couldn’t pass notes to eachother across class, iris must really have some pull if she is getting her notes passed across building.

  2. Hello,
    I absolutely LOVE this post. I am a college friend of Iris’s first grade teacher and know what a wonderful person she is. I have never seen her in action teaching, so thanks for sharing and giving me a glimpse of her classroom. I am a first grade teacher myself, and want to thank you for acknowledging all the “small things” that teachers do that really make a difference! Your daughter was blessed to have that experience in 1st grade! Neat story!

  3. Thank you Angie! We had such a great experience and I wanted to share it with everyone! It really was the small things that meant the most to Iris and I’m sure all kids feel the same way! Thanks for taking the time to read this!

Leave a Reply

