Monster Pooping Jelly Beans

When I was a little girl, my grandma Freda would write me letters stating that, “she needed more artwork for her cupboards.” In my mind, I imagined Grandma in a frantic desperation wondering what she could put on the bare spot. Apparently, my other cousins had been slacking on their artwork as well, and it was all up to me to put Grandma at ease. I would set to work, drawing and coloring. When I would get my picture done, my Mom would put it in the mail for me.

At our next visit to Grandma Freda and Grandpa Dale’s house, there it would be…my picture hanging on the kitchen cupboards along with about a dozen others and my cousin’s artwork as well! My grandparents lived in a 100 year old farmhouse that was filled with interesting artifacts and knickknacks. I felt proud that my artwork was featured among it all.

Image

Bency’s framed “Cat” painting

 

Image

Iris’s painting she did when she was 2 years old

As an adult, I absolutely love children’s artwork and I have not forgotten how Grandma Freda’s “gallery” made me feel about my own creations. I have instituted my own “gallery” in my own house and framed several pieces to display around the house as well.

I wasn’t sure if the gallery had an impact on my own kids until a day of rearranging and putting up new. My son asked why I took his “Monster Pooping Jelly Beans” picture down. I explained I’m always changing it to make room for all the new pictures and that I have all his artwork scanned into the computer and I proudly display it on the digital photo frame in our living room. He still looked like I had stabbed him in the heart until he noticed I had replaced it with “Baby With Chicken Pox in a Cage.” He also felt better when he saw I had taken down Iris’s magazine collage of “Bras” that she did when she was 4 and updated it with her recent picture of a unicorn.

 

Image

Our “Art Gallery”

 

 

I won a few art contests in elementary school but nothing compared to being featured on Grandma’s farmhouse cupboards. Thanks to her “frantic desperation” for my art she always kept me drawing. I will continue to portray to my children that I am “frantically desperate” for their artwork as well!

 

Image

Bency painting

 

 

 

6 responses

  1. When I was little, my mother never put out any of our artwork. She never even displayed family photos. The only photos that were on our wall was one baby picture of each of the five kids in an oval frame. However, when my kids were little, our fridge and walls were plastered with all kinds of trinkets. I even have a painted rock on my desk that my 28 year old son gave me when he was in preschool. I sprayed a shellack over it, and it’s been a paper weight ever since on my work desk. After they grew up, I boxed all their artwork up and stored them in boxes, which I still have in our basement. I’m sure that they will appreciate them someday.

    • They definitely will!! My Mom gave me my box of stored “treasures” some time back. It’s fun going through it. It’s hard remembering everything about your childhood but looking at that stuff brings a lot of it back! It also solidifies that your life was important and this “stuff” was good enough to save or display! I’m glad you didn’t follow in your mom’s shoes!!

  2. That is so cool Melissa! I have scrapbooks, and binders to store my kids special artwork, letters, etc in, and I hang a ton of their masterpieces in my laundry room as well as on a newly created “art wall” in my craft room…it really inspires me to keep creating, when I am surrounded by their creations, and when they know I appreciate their gifts, they’ll keep giving me more creations. I have totes and totes of their artwork from preschool on, and can’t part with it, when they are adults and I hand it off to them, they can decide what to do with it from there…

Leave a Reply

