Sometimes I Look At Her and I Still See a Baby

Painting I did yesterday taken from a photograph of Iris at 6 months

My daughter Iris is 6 months old in this picture. This year she turned 7 years old.

Sometimes I look at her and I still see a baby. She has not changed a bit.

Then I pull out the old photo albums and pictures like this pop out and it takes my breath away. When did my daughter get a jawline? She clearly did not have one at 6 months. When did her nose become long and slender? She had such a small button nose at 6 months. When did she get arms that revealed both her elbow and forearm? She had roly-poly sausages with five fingers sticking out of them at 6 months.

At 7 years old, my daughter is still very innocent. Yet, she knows words to pop songs. She talks on the phone to her best friend and they GIGGLE! I now fully understand the reference when someone says, “she giggled like a little school girl.” She talks about the presidential election. She asks me to do her hair a certain way.

But sometimes I just look at  her and I still see a baby.

23 responses

  1. Our daughters are about the same age and I so relate. My daughter has lost her two bottom teeth and the top ones are starting to hurt a bit and wobble. I have been dreading this. Once those baby teeth fall out, it’s all over. I really like your painting by the way.

  2. Sometimes I look for the signs of my little baby. He’s 7and so long and skinny, but the backs of his hands still have that little bit of baby fat and you can still just see the slight traces of the baby dimples that were his knuckes. I know exactly how you feel.

  3. Amazing, isn’t it? Yesterday I was going through some old work email and found a pic I’d sent to a colleague just after my son was born. He still had the baby acne and everything. When I look at him sleeping, the way he holds his mouth is the same as when he was a baby. Time flies. Nice picture!

  4. Our oldest daughter turned 18 last week and I will still catch a glimpse of something that reminds me of her baby days every once in a while. I guess that is just what moms do. 😉
    Beautiful painting.

  5. *Sniff* Yes the years pass too quickly. Our babes in arms grow and how we would love to be able to cuddle them against us or watch them fall asleep in our arms. I had quite a few old videos that I transferred to DVD of the girls when they were babies and toddlers, to sit back now and watch them, hear them speak their ‘tiny language’ brings a tear to my eye every time! Mine are now 29 and 25.. and I still remember everything.

Leave a Reply

