Pajamas and Bad Breath Are Fine With Me

Today my 7 year old daughter, Iris woke up crabby and tired. She had no interest in eating the breakfast that was waiting on the table for her. She went directly from her bed to the couch and cocooned herself in a blanket.

I ignored her and waited a few minutes before requesting that she get moving.

She did go eat but then plopped herself back on the couch. I told her she couldn’t lie on the couch and that it was time for her to get dressed and brush her teeth.

In her whiniest voice she spewed, “But Mooommm, I’m too tired to get dressed and brush my teeth.”

In the sweetest voice I could muster I replied, “That’s fine honey, I have no problem with you going to school in your light blue footy pajamas with pink elephants on them and with bad breath. It doesn’t affect me either way how you present yourself at school but in 20 minutes you are leaving.”

She huffed off into the bathroom to groom herself but began sputtering, “I never get to watch television anymore. I’m tired and just want to stay home watching TV all day.”

I walked into the bathroom and in my sweetest voice said, “I understand sweetheart, let me shoot an email to your teacher today and request she let you watch some shows today at school.”

Iris’s eyes got huge and she came back with a slightly terrified voice, “But Moooommm, the teacher would not go along with that. Please don’t email her.”

While I was busy brushing my own hair I said, “No, I think you’re wrong. You’ve said yourself that your teacher is amazing and really nice. I’m sure she won’t have a problem letting you watch My Little Pony instead of doing addition and subtraction today. She seems like a very reasonable lady and THIS is a very reasonable request.”

Iris stood stunned for a few moments trying to come up with a reason I should cease and desist any of my further actions to possibly embarrass her for life. Her next statement was “Well, she doesn’t let us whistle. My older cousin said my teacher has let kids whistle in her class in the past and this has never happened. There has NOT been any whistling in class.

I looked at Iris, nodded my head and agreed that a teacher who does not conduct whistling sessions in class will certainly not allow the viewing of My Little Pony.

I told her I would scratch my intervention idea but to hurry up and get ready for school.

Five minutes later, Iris was ready to go to school with a smile on her face and a big hug and kiss for me!

The moral of this story is: If you want to be a superior teacher, allow whistling in your classroom. Your students will think you are amazing!

Picture of Iris wearing the pajamas I almost sent her to school wearing today

38 responses

    • That’s so funny! I didn’t even notice that until you pointed that out! I took this picture in January of this year. When I was writing the story I was trying to think what I was going to use for a picture and then I remembered that I had took a picture of Iris in these pajamas last winter!!! Thanks!!

    • I think you’re exactly right!! I was dragging through this morning too! Something about waking up to dark is just not motivating at all!!!

  1. Every once in a while I used to let my kid have ice cream for breakfast and take a mental health day (IDK, maybe it was more of a mental health day for me)… but, it’s a little early in the year for that.

    • My mom did the same thing for me…A LOT! I was a horrible kid and often was too tired to go to school. She got sick of fighting with me about it so I spent many a day sitting watching tv when I should have been at school. I’m determined not to let my kids become delinquents like me!!! LOL!!!

      • I let her do it because she was the opposite of a delinquent; still is. I mean, she’s snarky and has a foul mouth, but I can’t really complain about those things, LOL.

  2. Very clever. I like your approach. Instead of getting frustrated with Iris you indulged her request. You actually helped her re-evaluate her desire to stay home. In the end, she was able to make the right decision. Good job mom!

    • The miracles we have to make as moms is crazy! I don’t know what I would do if my son tried to pull this on me though. He is the complete opposite of his sister and the threat of having to wear pajamas to school would not be a punishment in any way! He would be more than happy if I sent an email to his teacher requesting the approval of tv watching!!!

  3. Love how you handled that! I have a feeling that my daughter would be the same way. I took some notes.

    My son actually has faked sick before at school thinking he was going to get to come home and watch TV. That ended very badly. He was marched back to school within an hour.

    And yes, he would also be perfectly happy wearing pajamas to school. He has a pair of SuperMario pjs laid out all the time in his room “just in case” they have a pajama day. 🙂

    • That is for sure!!! Iris’s teachers have always said she is an ideal student and so well behaved. I’m pretty sure they would shocked by her whining this morning!!! Us moms have to take the brunt of the crabby moments in their lives! LOL!

    • I was up at 4:40 am today! I had about 5 cups of coffee before I had to get the kids ready for school so I was on top of my game!!! Afternoons are horrible for me!! They could probably get away with anything in the afternoons when I’m dragging!! LOL!

  4. Love it! One day K refused to get his underpants back on after going potty when getting ready for bed. I told him that I would put him in bed in three minutes. He could either go to bed with clothes on and clean hands or go to bed naked with yucky hands and I set my timer. Going to bed naked was not appealing. He doesn’t use that stall tactic anymore.

  5. Just so you know, I am so excited to see the way you handled that, and inspired. My 4 year old keeps trying to out-maneuver me and this a good lesson!

    • Wow!! Thank you very much! I had no idea so many people would think this was a good idea!!! You just never know with this parenting stuff!!! LOL!!

Leave a Reply

