Show and Tell

I have always had a love for antiques. I love the history that they contain and that there’s a story behind them. I actively began buying antiques when I was a teenager but even as a young child I had a fascination with them. By no means am I buying expensive antiques. In fact I prefer items that show that they were used and loved. Today I thought I would share with you some of my favorites and the stories behind them!

The Wardrobe

The Wardrobe

The Wardrobe

This is the first antique I bought when I was 16 years old.Β  I bought it from a resale shop for $50. It was plain wood at the time and in semi-rough shape. I brought it home and restained and varnished it. It is a big, cumbersome piece and traveled with me to all my apartments and houses. My Dad hated this thing. He would spit and swear under his breath every time he had to help me move. My first house had a steep stairway leading upstairs and a narrow landing. In order to get it up to my bedroom this had to be hoisted up over the landing at such an angle. It got dropped once. My Dad said he would never move this thing again! It now resides in my daughter’s room and my Mom painted it for me.

The Iron Bed

The Iron Bed

The Iron Bed

I love old iron beds but could never afford one. They can be quite pricey. I spotted this one on the back of a guys pickup truck one day when I was in my early 20’s and out with my Mom. He had a lot of junk in the back of his pickup and I came to the conclusion he was collecting things to bring to a scrap yard. I instantly hopped out of my car and asked him what he was going to do with the bed. He looked at me in a confused manner and managed to let me know he didn’t speak English. I somehow was able to explain to him that I wanted that bed. I took out my wallet and offered him money for it but he just waved it off and unloaded the bed and put it in my car for me. The only problem was I still needed the bed rails for it too. Trying to explain bed rails to someone that doesn’t speak English is nearly impossible so I just started digging through his truck until I found them. This clearly goes down as one of my ultimate finds because it was free and was quite the adventure trying to get it! This was my bed for many years and now serves as my daughter’s bed.

The Hoosier Cupboard

The Hoosier Cupboard

The Hoosier Cupboard

I found this piece through a newspaper ad when I was 20 years old. It was advertised for $250. I took my brother along to come look at it with me. I instantly fell in love with it and offered $200. The lady selling it accepted my offer as she said her husband was making her get rid of it because it was too big. I estimate this piece to be about 100 years old. It has the original etched glass in it which is very hard to come by. This has always been my baking cupboard. It stores all my cake pans, measuring cups, spices, baking ingredients etc. It is absolutely one of my favorite things I own!

The Stove

The Stove

The Stove

I found this Stewart stove at an estate sale with my Mom when I was in my early 20’s. It was in a basement hooked up and the owner said she still used it to do her canning on. I asked her if she wanted to sell it. She said yes but she would have to get $25 for it. In a blink of an eye I handed over the money. The thing about this stove though is that it weighs a ton! As I said it was in the basement so my Mom and I had to carry this thing up the stairs and then down the street to where I was parked. It was really insane when I think about it now. I have always had this sitting in my dining rooms as just a decoration basically. It serves no purpose. A few years ago I set it out to a rummage sale I was having and put $150 on it. A guy came and said he wanted it but he had to run to the bank quick and get the money. As soon as he left I got a sick feeling in my stomach and made a “sold sign” and put it on the stove. When the guy returned I told him someone else bought it and had given me the money and were just going to get their truck. Even though this stove is not an essential piece I just can’t part with it!

The Frames

The Frames

The Frames

Throughout the years my Mom and I have found several different frames at rummage or estate sales. They are usually in pretty bad shape but cost no more than $5. Some of them even contain the old bowed out glass which I don’t think is made anymore. My mom fixed all of these up and through the years I have added them one by one to my living room wall. We have our wedding picture, all of the kids baby pictures and our family picture. These are by far my most cherished pieces!

I hope you enjoyed my Show and Tell today!

56 responses

  1. Great Post, Melissa. I like them all, and your display of them look really nice. They don’t make them as fine quality like they used to. The antiques have great craftsmanship. Thanks for sharing. Be Blessed, Mtetar

    • Thank you! That cupboard has made it through several moves! It’s quite a pain trying to get it all wrapped up so the glass doesn’t break. I clearly wasn’t thinking about the whole moving aspect when I purchased most of my things!

    • Thank you! You’re right about that big furniture! We bought a brand new bedroom set for my husband and I a few years ago! It didn’t look that big in the store but once they delivered it, I was in shock! It almost didn’t all fit in our bedroom!

  2. I’m so glad you didn’t part with the stove! It represents a piece of history and clearly has stolen your heart. Stoves also represent warmth and have an element of comfort. After the conversation we just had about romance, you and I could use anything as reminders to HEAT things up! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! Whenever my mom and I get together and talk about our stories of collecting “junk” we always end up cracking up because we have done so many goofy things to get some stuff! I guess that endears me to these pieces even more!

  3. Hi Melissa. I just think it so funny that two people on the opposite sides of the world could be into similar beautiful but quirky things. I also collect antique wooden picture frames. I love the beautiful carved wood. I’ve picked up most of mine when we’ve been on holidays and I have piles of them stored in the garage and the roof although the best ones are on display. I love the stories behind how you found them, how you got them home. I recently bought an antique wardrobe from a local op shop and had it delivered hoping I could somehow sneak it passed my husband. Ha! Of course, I hadn’t measured it and it didn’t fit where I’d planned so we ended up rearranging 3 rooms to fit it in and lost most of the weekend. I was very popular. I think I can feel another post coming on…if only I can get through these postcards I’m working on from our holiday. Hope you are doing well. Best wishes,
    Rowena

    • Thank you so much Rowena!! Oh, you do sound so much like me…I know exactly what you mean with the sneaking part! I get the “eye rolls” a lot from my husband whenever I get something else! In actuality he is just as bad as me though…he loves antiques but he sticks to smaller things that clutter up our house! It’s a fun hobby….or an addiction I guess!! haha!!

  4. Thank goodness you decided not to part with that stove. She’s a beauty! As is that cupboard. Could that stove ever be used just for heating purposes? You know, to sit by on a cold winter’s day while reading a good book? I think by now you know I love heat and books…and food and my kitties!

  5. Cool finds! I LOVE the wardrobe. Antiques rock. I have an old flour cabinet that I use as a TV stand. It’s my baby. My old WWI army trunk is a fav too–even though I committed antique sacrilege and painted it black and white.

  6. You know, I started to read this after you posted it but I think I got distracted and never finished. I’m glad you reminded me of it. I LOVE all of your pieces. That hoosier cabinet looks to be in really great shape. I love the iron bed too, especially for a little girl’s room. And also, your mom sounds awesome.

    Did you hear the story about the guy who bought an antique album full of really old photos at a yard sale in Maine, which contained a really primitive baseball team card from the 1860’s. It just sold for $92K. Here’s the story: http://espn.go.com/mlb/story/_/id/8921014/rare-1865-baseball-card-fetches-92k-auction. So keep hitting those yard sales! And even if you never get rich, at least you’ll have a whole lot of enjoyment and some really cool stuff.

    • No, I didn’t hear that story!! That is crazy! My mom did once buy a cheap table at an estate sale that had $100 taped to it underneath. There was no one to return it to because the owners were deceased and it was an outside company running the sale. So yes, I’ll keep going and getting things I like but now I will keep my eyes open for 19th century baseball cards too….and the old Gourmet magazines for you!

Leave a Reply

