With Silver Bells, and Cockle Shells, and Pretty Maids All in a Row

It feels like Spring is never going to arrive here in Wisconsin. It is almost the end of April and we still haven’t put away our winter coats.

I am eager to get outside and see some flowers.

I have a love/hate relationship with gardening. When I was in my 20’s and had my first home, I put in a pond and garden in my backyard. I was quite enthusiastic about the hobby. I even joined an online seed club and began exchanging seeds with people all over the country. I had over 100 different kind of flowers growing in my garden by the time I sold the house. I also developed a loathing for this hobby when I realized how much work went into it year after year. The weeding and thinning out never ends. Even though I am not exactly enthusiastic about the hobby I continue to dabble in it and luckily for me I married a guy who never gardened before but has come to absolutely love it!

Today I want to share some garden photos mainly to remind myself that I will be seeing some beauty outside pretty soon (I hope)!

My backyard at my first home

My backyard at my first home

The pond

The pond

This is my Mom's flower garden! She amazes me every year with how much hard work and time she puts into her garden!

This is my Mom’s flower garden! She amazes me every year with how much hard work and time she puts into her garden!

Another one of my Mom's garden...I love watching it change and flourish every year!

Another one of my Mom’s garden…I love watching it change and flourish every year!

My daughter Iris standing in front of my Mom's Irises when she was 2 years old.

My daughter Iris standing in front of my Mom’s Irises when she was 2 years old.

My husband and I by one of my Mom's gardens when we were dating.

My husband and I by one of my Mom’s gardens when we were dating.

A garden in our yard that my husband made. I added the dresser that I found on the side of the street and painted.

A garden in our yard that my husband made. I added the dresser that I found on the side of the street and painted.

Oh Spring….I beg you…please get here soon! I might even do a bit of weeding!

 

 

 

51 responses

  1. Absolutely beautiful! I also have a love/hate gardening relationship: love it to look pretty/hate the work it takes. I’m with you – I peomise not to grumble this year is Spring would just ARRIVE! 😉

  2. I admire those who work so hard in their yards to beautify their little spot of earth. I wish I had that determination. I know I certainly admire other’s. And we put our coats away about five times already, have retrieved them just as often. 😉

  3. I hope spring comes soon for you. We had a brief touch of spring and it’s starting to get uncomfortably hot already in the middle of the day.

    I love seeing beautiful gardens but so far I seem to have a “black thumb”. I wouldn’t mind getting into growing herbs and small veggies, though! My husband’s pride and joy is his Thai chili plant–it has yielded some gorgeous, super-spicy chilies! We also have a small, potted lime tree. The kids love to help water and check on the plants.

    Your pictures are all very pretty! –Alison

    • Oh Alison….”uncomfortably hot”….makes me so jealous!!! We have tried having a vegetable garden a few times but have been big failures at it. Our yard is mainly shade. Last year we were able to grow tomatoes in pots with some luck and this year we are going to try New Mexican Green Chili! My husband would love that Thai chili for sure!

  4. Your mom’s garden is beautiful and reminds me a lot of my mother in-law’s garden. I love your dresser in the garden! Great idea. I hear you about the weather!!! Same here in Montreal…

    • Thank you Lidia…I just checked the weather and Thursday is going to be snow/rain and Friday is going to be in the 60’s…If it truly gets into the 60’s I will be jumping for joy….maybe your cake really worked!!

  5. I love the pictures of your mom’s garden. Gardening is a chore but it does teach patience. I like the fact that there is a beautiful reward in viewing the flowers when you hold up your end of the bargain 🙂

    • Gardening absolutely teaches patience! I’m always in such a yank for everything to sprout and bloom. I think I really am going to try to be more diligent this year. This long cold patch has definitely made me more appreciative of being outside and digging in the dirt!

  6. I think your yard was just beautiful… I. to have a love hate relationship. My problem is critters, I grow tomatoes, Jalapenos, onions, garlic, yellow hots, and they critters don’t allow the vegetables to ripen… Some years were in such a drought, thing just won’t grow. This year N.M. was so dry well be luck to have water to drink… keep your garden looking so beautiful. I love it!!!

    • Thanks Pam! Oh yes, the rabbits and bugs really do a number around here with the vegetables! Alex’s Mom gave him some seed packets for New Mexico Green Chili and we are going to try really hard to get those going!!

    • Thanks Steph! I know you’ve mentioned in your posts that you’ve had a few nice days. I think we’ve had one day that it was 50 and the kids could go outside and roll around in the mud. Thinking back on that day and the fact that I am still trying to clean up all of the mud they tracked in makes me just want to skip right to summer!

  7. This year’s weather has been CRAZY! It finally got hot here in Florida and then this week we’re even back to long sleeves (granted, that’s nowhere near as bad as having to wear winter coats, but it’s insane for April in Florida!) I hope the warm weather heads up your way soon! And, I am so jealous of all of the flowers! We live in a condo so not a lot of yard space to try to grow anything, but we just got some seeds and planters (and the kids built planting boxes at Lowe’s 2 weeks ago) so we are going to try for a window garden! Weeds don’t grow there, right? 🙂

    • I once lived in an apartment with a decent sized patio and I must have had about 40 pots of flowers on it. I wish I had a picture of that. Besides just making sure I watered them everyday that was the easiest and really pretty. You might get a few weeds but they don’t root as easily so they are easy to pluck out. All of the weeding around here requires a spade and serious muscle strength to pull them out!

  8. I love flowers and nature in general. Enjoyed seeing your mom’s and your garden and like the creative ways your decorated them. If you have a chance you can see a recent painting I did ‘A Walk in Nature’ posted on my Facebook. See my ‘About’.
    -Liz

  9. Today is gorgeous here — it’s like spring decided to peek out and see if anyone was around to play. It’s only here for a minute though, and then back to more showers. Ugh.

    I’m a certifiable black thumb, but I want to grow plants. I’ll keep trying and maybe someday it’ll click and I’ll have gorgeous flowers everywhere like you do! 🙂

  10. Melissa, I’m sorry to hear that the cold temps are still lingering. I’m sure you’ll get to roll up your sleeves and start digging in your yard soon. I wish I had a green thumb. I can’t even keep a house plant alive for very long.

    By the way, your mother’s garden is stunningly beautiful! 🙂

  11. Hi Melissa,
    That was my daughter who sent the last message. I was showing her your lovely garden photos.
    I’m sorry to tell you that the sun doesn’t look like it’s coming your way any time soon. It’s still well and truly down under most of the time. We’ve had the odd cold day when we’ve all moaned that summer is over but the sun keeps coming back.
    I did a bit of unplanned gardening a few days ago. I ended up planting everything immediately this time before the plants died of thirst. So far so good. Everything is still alive. My husband has arrived home so I’d better hide the laptop. xx Rowena

  12. The backyard and the pond at your first house is beautiful (you should see our backyard; it’s scary over here, we started cleaning it Monday afternoon and it’s still scary out there!) we had sun over here, I was surprised but it’s still cold! Your mother’s gardens are beautiful, they remind me of my parents ; they love gardening! 🙂 You had a great idea to add the dresser; you are very creative Melissa (you should really consider adding your projects to your blog this summer!) 🙂

    • Thank you Ingrid! Our backyard looks scary too! There is so much work to do. I am having my garage sale this weekend and hopefully Alex can clean the yard (hee-hee) because it’s supposed to be gorgeous here this weekend! If I come up with any more cool projects I will be sure to add them!

Leave a Reply

