I Wonder if My Great Grandma Knew What She Was Making

I come from a long line of amazingly creative women. From Great-Grandmas down to my Mom.

My Great-Grandma Palma, on my father’s side was only in my life for a short time. I believe she passed away when I was 7 and I only got to meet her a few times. Those few visits though inspired me greatly and were wonderful memories. She had a huge collection of salt and pepper shakers and other beautiful things that I loved to look at and made me want to start collecting antiques. She gave me quite a few of her salt and pepper sets that I still display in my home. She also gave me a very old miniature cast iron stove to use with my Barbies that my daughter now uses with her dolls. She crocheted doll dresses for me that my daughter also still uses.

My most loved gift from her though was my crocheted collars. She made me about 10 in all different colors. I wore them all of the time in elementary school. I thought they were the most extraordinary things! I began putting them on my own daughter when she was in Kindergarten and she thinks they are equally as cool as I do!

I wonder if my Great Grandma knew as she crocheted those little collars for me and gave me those little gifts that they would be with me forever and that I would pass them down to my own daughter. I wonder if she knew that she was making me more than a crocheted collar….she was making a piece of herself, a gift of love, that I can hold on to forever and spread her love to many more.

Iris wearing one of the crocheted collars to school today.

Iris wearing one of the crocheted collars to school today.

A close up of the collar

A close up of the collar

 

 

61 responses

  1. She was so creative and made so many beautiful things and her generosity to gift her creations is such a legacy. She was a brilliant woman and did so many things to pass on her Norwegian heritage that generations to come will be so blessed and informed of a vast amount of information and family !

  2. My grandma made those collars for my sisters and me and I saved them also. I always think that my Grandma expected those things to be passed down because she took such good care of everything. She made doilies out of the string that held the seed of my Grandpa’s crop seed bags and I still have one of them. She would sit in the farm truck and open the bags and fill the hoppers when they were empty and I would sit in the truck with her all day. Her crocheting and me yapping. Thanks for reminding me.

    • Wow! That is a great memory! I actually have never seen any other crocheted collars. Did yours look just like this? Also I absolutely love the fact that she used the string from the seed bags. That is why I love the women of that era so much…they were so resourceful!

    • First of all, thank you very much! Secondly, I just briefly looked through your blog and see that you are a fellow garage saler and treasure hunter! It appears we have a lot in common! I will be visiting your blog more when I get more time! Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Oh, now that’s awesome!! I love things like that! I have a couple of dresses that were made for me – but since I didn’t have a little girl, they are just stored away – I love that you have a daughter to pass them down to! What a blessing!

    • Thank you Kate! I am extremely sentimental so this stuff is right up my alley! I had a few of my baby clothes that I used to dress Iris up in. Perhaps Mr. T will have a daughter someday and you can put those special dresses on her…okay, I realize he is just learning to drive so thinking of grandchildren is probably not even close in your range of thinking right now!!!

      • I’m just really, really hoping that me being a grandmother stays off my radar for a long, looooonnnngggg time. I mean, a long time. I can’t stress enough that it should be a long time. Long time. Seriously. Long.

  4. The coolest! It’s so neat to see how things like are shared and passed down from generation to generation. And detachable collars are all the rage these days – walk into any H&M and you’ll see aisles of them! (Nowhere as lovely as the ones pictured, of course!)

    • I had no idea that detachable collars were all the rage these days!! Since you are the most fashion knowledgeable person I know, I’ll take your word for it! How cool is that… something made 30 years ago can be in fashion today!

  5. How sweet! I’m glad your daughter likes to wear them.

    I was taught to crochet by a little old lady who lived down the street from me. I’ve often thought she gave me a gift that carries on and on, always bearing fruit. Seems the same way with the inspiration you have taken from the ladies in your family.

    • That’s awesome Joyce! I really wish I knew someone that knows how to crochet. I really want to learn. I’m not good from learning from books on on-line. I actually need to be shown by a person. I love your line….”a gift that carries on and on, always bearing fruit.”

  6. This inspired my to look up knit collars! I want to make some for my little one and then eventually pass them on. Thanks for sharing… 🙂

    • Wow! That is awesome! I’m glad you found a tutorial for them. I really want to learn how to crochet. It was actually my goal for this past winter but alas I couldn’t find anyone to teach me. Once I do though, I will be making collars up a storm!!

    • Thank you so much! It is great passing them down and in turn telling my daughter about her Great-Great Grandma….it makes it all the more interesting for her because she actually has something that says who this lady was!

  7. Crocheted collars? That’s amazing and absolutely ingenious! Sounds like your grandmother was a trailblazer. I think it’s adorable that Iris loved wearing these heirlooms to school. My daughter would probably be a huge fan of something so meaningful too!

    • I have never seen another crocheted collar but a few others said they have seen them. I think they are great pieces for bringing a plain shirt a little pizzazz! Who knows maybe crocheted collars will become the next big thing!

  8. So cool! Not just because the collars are wonderful, but the story they have and the memories and history you are sharing with your daughter. It rather makes me want a crocheted collar or two…

  9. Pingback: October Chat with a Mom: Melissa Vigil | Little Steps

Leave a Reply

