Friday the 13th Was One of the Luckiest Days of My Life

She entered our lives on Friday the 13th.

1 day old

1 day old

We gave her the name of Iris after the Greek Goddess of Rainbows. Her middle name, Hope, was her Great Grandma’s middle name.

I never took my eyes off of her. Her beauty captivated me.

1 month old

1 month old

Her personality started to shine through and she filled us all with laughs and happiness.

2 months old

2 months old

I couldn’t get enough of dressing her up and still do to this day!

3 months old

3 months old

She was so darn cute and I just wanted to eat her up. She was so chubby at 5 months that I think I could have taken a few nibbles out of her!

5 months old

5 months old

Iris has continued to delight and amaze us everyday. She is extremely thoughtful and generous. When she celebrated her 6th birthday in Kindergarten she was allowed to bring in 3 extra treats to hand out to favorite teachers. When she got home I asked which teachers she gave her extra cookies to. She listed about 12 different names. I asked her how this was possible and she said she just broke the cookies up into little pieces so she could give to more people.

Last year, Iris’s birthday fell on Mother’s Day for the first time.ย  Her spirit and love has been one of the most precious Mother Day gifts I have ever received.

It’s hard to believe she is finally at the age where she can start dating. Actually, it’s just dates with her Dad.

Iris and her Dad April 2013. All ready for a Father/Daughter dance

Iris and her Dad April 2013. All ready for a Father/Daughter dance

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In just a bit our house will be filled with lots of little girls to help us celebrate Iris’s 8th birthday. The party theme this year is rainbows. Iris loves them. She is after all our Goddess of Rainbows.

Friday the 13th has proven to be one of the luckiest days of my life.

It brought me this sweet little girl named Iris.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

54 responses

  1. Happy Birthday, Iris! Thanks Melissa for sharing such beautiful pics. At two months she looks like you, but seems to look like her dad now. You all enjoy what’s going to be a great story to share for years to come. Be Blessed, Mtetar

  2. There should be a LOVE button for this post. She was a beautiful baby and she is a gorgeous girl! Happy Birthday, Iris Hope!!! (Ella’s middle name is Faith, so between the two of us, we’ve got a lot of hopeful faith. Faithful hope? Good taste in names? I’m leaving now…)

  3. Friday the 13th will forever be valued as a very lucky day for our entire family ! To have the Rainbow Goddess in our family has brought such happiness, joy, laughs, amazement and pride in sweet Iris who has shown us all layers and layers of a truly remarkable soul that makes the world a better place just by being !!

  4. I too think Friday the thirteen was a good day. We got married on the thirteenth even though everyone tried to tell us it was bad luck.So boool ya to them. Happy birthday beautiful Iris. You certianly look the goddess part in that pink bikini up there.

  5. SHE IS GORGEOUS! And chubby times 10!!!! How could you have taken your eyes off of her? I remember just staring at my kids while they slept. If their picture catches my eye now I find my self just staring. I so love the picture with her and her daddy!!!

    • Thank you Colleen! I thought of you when I put that picture of her and her Dad in since I told you they were going on a Father/Daughter dance a while back when you posted about your granddaughter going! I hope you had a great Mother’s Day!

      • I had a wonderful day!

        Yes, that picture is PERFECT. I love pictures like that. I have one of me and my 2 daughters, from the back, just our shoulders and heads, and I love it. Don’t know why.

        I hope your day was wonderful as well. I bet it was full of crafty colors!!!!

  6. Iris entered this world
    Friday the thirteenth
    with darkened hair
    and eyes to match
    Greek Goddess of Rainbows and Hope
    was her name
    the love and the laughter she has brought
    shall remain
    Happy 8th Birthday Iris.
    xx

  7. I read this post earlier during the weekend, and it brought tears to my eyes! What a journey you take with children as they grow! So sweet & a beautiful tribute to celebrate her birthday!

  8. Meep, I am tearing up just reading this! Happy birthday to Iris! She certainly is a bundle of beauty, and those snaps with her dad near well did me in. I love that she loves rainbows! They were totally my favourite when I was her age. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. sorry to be so behind all my e-mails but I hope Iris had a beautiful birthday! oh! yes! you are so lucky to have her; she is so precious in her baby pictures ๐Ÿ™‚ & the ones with her father ready for the dance; precious too, hope you will keep these pictures for her in the future; they are all lovely! ๐Ÿ™‚ btw, my mom was born Friday 13 too but in March! & my grand mother says it was the best and luckiest day of her life! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Oh wow! That’s cool that your mom was born on Friday the 13th too…I have not run across anyone else who was born on this day! I love the pictures of her and her dad too. They went to a dance last year also and I have a picture hanging up in the house from it!

Leave a Reply

