Have Yourself An Angry (Bird) Little Birthday

Even though my son almost never gets to play the video game Angry Birds and you can read about why here he still absolutely loves them and requested it for the theme of his birthday party this year.

Here is how we celebrate an Angry Bird birthday over at Motherhood Is An Art.

First, I made an Angry Bird cake:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I screwed up while making the cake but it ended up turning out okay. I absentmindedly forgot to set aside white frosting to dye yellow and white for the beak and eyes. I had to cut a marshmallow in half for the eyes and I used cereal for the beak. For the head and tail feathers I broke graham crackers into little rectangles, frosted them and stuck them into the sides of the cake.

Next, I created a few games for the party.

I made a poster of the different piggies and we used this for two games. I painted these piggies on freehand but if you’re not into drawing you could cut these out of a coloring book and paste them on as well.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I drew and cut out three different birds from Angry Birds and we played Pin the Angry Bird on the Piggie:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We used this same poster and laid it on the ground for Toss the Angry Bird on the Piggie. We used three plastic Angry Birds that my son already had in his room:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Next I built a life-size Angry Bird game out of various cardboard boxes and piggies made out of balloons. You had to try to knock down the piggies with a Angry Bird stuffed toy we had. The stuff toy we used is heavier than a normal stuffed toy because it has a voice box in it. I don’t know if a regular stuffed toy would have worked as well.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For the piggies I just cut out snouts and eyes from construction paper and used scotch tape to adhere them:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The last game we played had nothing to do with Angry Birds but it was one that we played at my daughter’s party when she was in Kindergarten and I thought it was a good one so I thought we should do it again. I call it Puppies and Kittys. All it requires is long strips of fabric about a yard length long. One child is designated a puppy and the rest are kitties. The ones that are kitties get a piece of the fabric stuck to the back of their shirt with masking tape and this is their tail. The puppy has to chase the kitties around and try to step on their tail to remove it. Once there tail is gone the kitty becomes a puppy too and gets to help get the other children’s tails off.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had a fun time with the kids and I think my son really enjoyed his party!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here are some of my other posts related to birthday parties:

Dress Me Up Barbie

Birthday Cake Extravaganza

Birthday Decoration Head Shots

Tissue Paper Party Decorations

A Glimpse Into An 8 Year Olds Birthday Party

 

 

53 responses

  1. this is great, and as a former caterer, a mother, a grandmother, and a kinder teacher, i know thinking on your feet, adapting as you go, improv, and thinking outside of the box, all are important to pulling these things off. bravo!

    • Thank you so much! The kids really liked that game with the boxes and we played several rounds of it! Each time their aim got better and I had more and more boxes to reconstruct so the next kid could go! I was pretty tired after that game!

      • Just think of it as your exercise for the day. πŸ˜‰ Now that I think of it, why don’t we play games like that with our kids all the time? or at least more often. Have a good week!

  2. Amazing Melissa! Although I consider myself to be a great baker, I am NIL when it comes to decorating…making a character decoration or trying to replicate something specific is just not my thing. If you would not have mentioned that the eyes were marshmallows and the beak was cereal, I would have never guessed it!! And to even come up with that idea! Fantastic job with the cake Melissa! Truly! And the rest of the birthday ideas are so fun! Happy Birthday Bency!

    • Thank you so much Lidia! I can’t really say decorating is my thing either yet I continue to keep doing it. I enjoy doing it though so I keep thinking that someday I will go and take cake decorating classes!

  3. Melissa, Melissa, Melissa you’re toooooooo creative in all you do. Your baking, the games, party favors, etc. are all creative. Thank you for sharing your Blessings of creativity. Be A Blessing because you’re Blessed. Mtetar

  4. Melissa, just once I would love to experience a birthday party at your house! You put soooo much love into everything you do! My favorite was the Angry Bird game made out of cardboard boxes. Visually stunning!

    Hope you get to come up for air before you go on vacation. You need to rest! πŸ™‚

    • No time to rest yet Anka! Later today we leave for the big trip! I have been in a frenzy trying to get everything packed and last night our air conditioning went out on our van so today I have to figure out what we’re going to do about that! I can’t wait to sit back and open up a good book, listen to some music and relax!!! I hope everything is going well for you and I will “see you” in a couple of weeks!!

  5. You are the most amazing of life. OF LIFE! I am dead. Slayed. Seriously.

    Ahem. Okay – let’s try this again. I have the craziest smile on my face looking at these photos and reading this post. You are just a gem and should have your own tv show because this just might be the best thing I have ever seen.

  6. WoW!! My lil one is too lil now to know of angry bird, but in future if she takes liking to some video game character now I know how to bring the animation to life. Very creative and clever thinking.

  7. I certainly agree with above comments … You would make a great teacher … you could have an amazing successful TV Show … on EVERYTHING you do …. You are Blessed with many amazing Gifts and the Sweetest Soul with abundance of Goodness … You are Poetry and Perfection in Motion !!!

  8. Seriously, you are the parent that the rest of us hate! In a good way, of course! What a great birthday party, and I’m just amazed at all you put together and the cost savings! You are just amazing and it looks like everyone had a wonderful time! Way to go!

    • Have you been living under a rock? Just kidding! You wouldn’t believe the amount of things that I am in the dark about. Things are getting a little better with having kids. They go to school and learn about the newest, hippest things and then report back to me!

  9. Melissa! you are the best mommy! you are so creative and have so much imagination and energy! πŸ™‚ I am lacking energy lately but you did great and they seemed to have lots of fun! glad the party was a success and hope now you can put your feet up! πŸ™‚ The cake WOW! πŸ™‚ I’m impressed of how it looks, you got very creative on what to use to decorate it! πŸ™‚ I’m sure Bency loved his cake! πŸ™‚

  10. What a great party for your rip tail peeler! I had not heard that expression before, but love it! Such a fun and creative bday party for Bency! Well done! Have a wonderful week!

    • Thanks Cathy! We are heading out on our trip to New Mexico in just a few hours! I’ll see you back here in a couple of weeks! I can’t imagine what it’s going to be like to drive cross country with a rip tail peeler!!

  11. I love the cake! It looks as though it was all part of the plan! The angry birds game with the boxes is really cool too and that is Exactly what I think my 7 yr old would say! I think I’m going to borrow your idea if you don’t mind and make a game for my son to use at his summer play dates! I am so sure it will be a hit!! Love your creativity!!

  12. Hi Melissa, what a fantastic party, another thing in common as my Josh loves Angry Birds too and doesn’t play it!!!! you are so the best mum EVER all the other mums must have secretly been dead jealous about that amazing cake and party! love n hugs, Teresa xxxx

  13. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: The Father’s Day/Is That A Chocolate Sprinkle or Is It Mouse Poop? Edition | The Sadder But Wiser Girl

Leave a Reply

