So We Did

I’ve seen it in pictures but it was one of those things that I have always wanted to see in person.

So we did.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These are my kids in front of Mount Rushmore. What? This isn’t the real one you say. Oh yes, this is a knock-off at Wall Drug in South Dakota. Wall Drug is also another place I always wanted to see after I received a post card from a friend when I was 10 years old stating her parents took her to Wall Drug in South Dakota. In her postcard she didn’t state what it was or what she did there so I had no clue what she was talking about but to me it really sounded like a questionable place to take a kid. It wasn’t until many years later (like 2 years ago) I found out that it is a famous pharmacy in South Dakota.

It is best known for it’s 5 cent coffee, amazing doughnuts, a ton of crazy photo props and a huge T-Rex dinosaur that scared the bejiggums out of our 2 year old!

My husband being a good sport and posing with his 5 cent coffee!

My husband being a good sport and posing with his 5 cent coffee!

I'm pretty sure this is the only place in the world that you can have your picture taken with a huge jackrabbit with a saddle on it's back!

I’m pretty sure this is the only place in the world that you can have your picture taken with a huge jackrabbit with a saddle on it’s back!

This giant T-Rex that roars, his eyes light up and his head moves has turned my 2 year old into a dinosaur hater!

This giant T-Rex that roars, his eyes light up and his head moves has turned my 2 year old into a dinosaur hater!

Honestly though, I have always wanted to see the real Mount Rushmore. As an American it kind of seems like it’s one of those things you need to see before you die.

So we did.

My kids in front of Mount Rushmore

My kids in front of Mount Rushmore

It really is a sight to behold. I’m glad we went to see it. It’s amazing to me that someone not only thought about doing this so long ago but actually executed their plan and brought it to fruition. Absolutely remarkable in my opinion.

Isn't it spectacular?

Isn’t it spectacular?

Another truly great moment on our recent vacation! Two Mount Rushmores in one day!

 

 

 

 

 

39 responses

    • After you showed that video of that kid on his bike I think I am forever going to imagine you riding your bike that way so of course now I am picturing you biking down George Washington’s nose, doing a flip and landing on Abe’s head! Yes, you definitely need to get there!

      • HA!!! WHC!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am enjoying the thought of being able to do that. I was in a store last night and those types of bikes were in there. I actually walked over just to touch one. πŸ˜‰

  1. That great you got to see Mt Rushmore. Too often we miss what’s on our doorsteps! Here in Australia, overseas travel to our neighbouring Asian countries (Bali, Fiji, Thailand) is cheaper than travelling domestically and so many Australians miss what’s on their own doorstep so I say well done for getting there… Well not only getting there, seeing TWO versions of the same monument in one trip ;-)!!!!

    • I never knew that about the travel being cheaper to your neighboring Asian countries. Have you been to those countries? Australia looks gorgeous from the pictures and shows I have seen! I would be very happy traveling all over it!

      • I remember buying a jackalope piggy bank (and have since parted with it). It’s so weird….

        I’m sure you had MANY interesting stops on the way to New Mexico, and I’m SURE they will remember it – along with the ice cream at Perkins in Appleton. πŸ™‚

  2. More great photos of great time spent on such a wonderful trip. The photos will be shared for generations to come with great family time, and conversations. Be A Blessing because you’re Blessed. Mtetar

  3. Great pictures … great blog … You weren’t born when we took our vacation out west .. Glad you finally got to see Mt. Rushmore and Wall Drug …. I don’t think they had the jackalope and dinosaur when we were there !!!

    • Yes, just another reminder of all the fun things I missed out on being the youngest in the family! haha! I didn’t realize that it was a family trip though. I thought Dad and you went there for your honeymoon.

  4. Bravo! You did make it to Mt. Rushmore! I saw it in circa 1964 on a road trip to Chicago in my dad’s first new car – a 1963 Mercury Meteor. I’m sure the site has changed in nearly 50 years… πŸ™‚

    • I’m happy you brought up the car! I love old cars but have never heard of the Mercury Meteor. I just looked it up and it is a great looking car! I can totally picture that road trip now! It’s amazing thinking of all the people who have driven those same roads and seen the same site all of these years!

  5. What about great drugs? Does the pharmacy have great drugs?
    I would like to see Mt. Rushmore. I always thought it looked cool. It always looked so high up but I don’t get that sense in your picture. Are the carvings really high in the air?

    • I never saw that movie! I just looked it up and kind of get the gist of it but now I will be on a mission to watch it! I see it came out in 2007. Not that we are big movie watchers now but 2007 was particularly bad for us and movie watching since we had a 2 year old and a baby. Actually you would have been in the same boat as us so I don’t know why I am explaining this to you!!!

      • Yeah, unless it’s a kids’ movie, we’re still not able to go to the movies much so I totally understand. We only saw it on dvd but it has been on tv a lot lately. It’s not the world’s greatest movie, but it’s entertaining and sort of historical (not all factual, obviously, but will make history-ish things seem fun again) πŸ™‚

    • haha! As far as I know there are no plans to carve anymore Presidents but about 20 minutes from there they are currently working on carving Crazy Horse (a Native American Indian Chief). It is a project that has been going on since I think the 1940’s. The original sculptor died and his family instead of selling it to the government and letting them finish it has kept it and tried to find other people to do the sculpting. Only the face of Crazy Horse is done but the upper body and his horse is still in the works to be done. We drove over there and they are working on it and they actually charge $20 to get into the grounds. We didn’t do that but we still got some pictures of it!

      • It’s privately owned! I guess some guy actually went out and bought this particular mountain! The family doesn’t want to sell it to the government even though they offered a lot of money and were willing to finish the project. I understand the family’s reasoning but it is taking them 50+ years to raise enough money to finish the project and find people to do it!

Leave a Reply

