Old School Blogging

My gal pal Sarah over at The Sadder But Wiser Girl recently tagged me in a post that consists of lists of 5 things about myself. I’m still laughing over some of Sarah’s answers! Below you will find my answers to these questions. Enjoy!

Five Things I Have a Passion for:

1. Creating and looking at art

2. Going to thrift stores and garage sales

3. Being a mom

4. History

5. Dessert

I love being a mom to these kids!

I love being a mom to these kids!

Five Things I Would Like To Do Before I Kick the Bucket:

1. Eat an entire can of sweetened condensed milk

2. Wallpaper an entire room with little magazine pictures like I did with my attic (I think I am going to wait until I’m 80 years old and don’t care what the resale value of my home is).

3. Build a rock wall

4. Learn how to build stuff with wood (I guess that would be carpentry skills).

5. Own an art studio for kids (this seems overly ambitious for me but MAYBE).

This is our attic wall...I would love to do this to an entire room

This is our attic wall…I would love to do this to an entire room

Five Things I Say A Lot:

1. Why on earth would you think this okay to do? (this is to both my husband and kids)

2. Just a minute. Hold on. Wait a sec. (I have 4 people constantly asking me for something so they get some sort of variation of this)

3. That is flippin’ hilarious!

4. You are driving me crazy!

5. I don’t know (I seriously have to say this a lot because I get asked questions like “Would hopping on an ostrich save me if I got stuck in a tornado since they can run really fast?” all day long)

This is what it looks like when I am on the phone

This is what it looks like when I am on the phone

Five Things I Read Recently:

1. The Birth Order Book by Kevin Leman (I read this to learn more about my kids and ended up learning a lot about myself)

2. Wonderful Tonight by Pattie Boyd (wife to George Harrison and Eric Clapton…pretty interesting)

3. Hundreds of children’s books ranging from The Potty Book for Boys, The Star Wars Easy Reader Books and Ramona Quimby

4. Penny Press’s Variety Puzzles (ok, so this isn’t really reading but it is a magazine I subscribe to…I absolutely love extremely hard logic problems that make me break out in a sweat trying to figure them out)

5. Country Living magazine (my mom always subscribes to magazines that let her pass on a second subscription to someone else and she always picks me)

Five Favorite Movies:

(disclaimer: I am really not a movie person because I usually fall asleep during them. The following movies are ones that not only I did NOT fall asleep during them but have watchedΒ  them multiple times)

1. Life is Beautiful (a movie about the Holocaust)

2. The Boy in the Striped Pajamas (a movie about the Holocaust)

3. Say Anything

4. The Help

5. The Green Mile (this is the only book I ever read that I equally liked the movie)

Five Places I Would Love to Travel:

1. Oregon/Washington area

2. Hawaii

3. Costa Rica

4. India

5. A remote African village to help out (I actually looked into joining the Peace Corps when I was in high school)

Five Bloggers I’m Tagging For This Thing:

1. Courtney @ Embracing the Insanity

2. Cathy @ Go Mama O

3. Lidia @ Ohlidia

4. Christine @ Momtimes4

5. Kate @ Did That Just Happen

All you ladies need to do is get to answering and writing so we can all learn a little more about you!

Have a great day!

Melissa

48 responses

  1. I would go ahead and just knock out that #1 spot on your bucket list. Life is too short to not eat / drink an entire can of sweetened condensed milk… Have you read Corrie Ten Booms, The Hiding Place? It’s a movie too. If you liked Life is Beautiful and the Boy in the striped Pajamas, you will love it. I was on a Holocaust reading spree years ago, so sad, but interesting. The Help and Green Mile are 2 of my favorites, too!!

    • I know, I really need to get the sweetened condensed can of milk off my list! I’ve been thinking about it for years! Every time it occurs to me I’m already baking something that requires it though! I will definitely check out The Hiding Place!

  2. I love the “I don’t know”. When T went through that phase and overwhelmed me with questions I quickly learned to say “I don’t know, maybe we should look that up when we get home?” and 9 times out of 10 – he’d forget by the time we got home! It was a sneaky move, but I so totally used it!!

  3. I am originally from the WA/OR area and you should definitely travel there. The air is fresh and clean and dry, and the sky is big and open. Western WA/OR is green and lush and the Eastern part is very dry like a desert. It’s the best!!!

      • That’s great that his mom taught you. My husband is Hispanic and he does cook quite a few of the authentic foods but the majority of it I have taken over after he, his mom and cousin have taught me. I know what you mean about the spices. I finally found one the other day that I had been searching for the past few months!

  4. This was flippin’ wonderful to read.

    I did not know “The Boy In The Striped Pajamas” was on Netflix! Thank you! I have been waiting to see that.

    I love the picture of you on the phone. I think many faces could be superimposed on yours and totally be the same.

      • I watched it last night. I actually drew one of my shadow people about it because I couldn’t make words. I wrote next to it “the hardest two minutes of realization in my life, ever”.

        We “know” this happened. Yet “seeing it” was a painful reality we don’t really ‘know’. Like when I saw “The Passion of the Christ”.

        You are right. It is haunting me. But we should be haunted by this.

  5. I’d fall asleep before I’d get these lists done plus I can never remember movie & book titles….doh?!
    You’re awesome Melissa!!

  6. I want to read the Birth Order too, but I’m an only child so I haven’t got a clue where to begin. I am the oldest, the youngest, and the middle child. And I probably only inherited all the flaws from each category.
    And I think Crossword Puzzle books do count.
    Thanks for introducing me to The Sadder But Wiser Girl too! She’s a hoot!

  7. I enjoyed reading your responses Melissa! There’s so much I didn’t know about you!

    A WHOLE can of sweetened condensed milk?

    The Green Mile-I laughed at that because that movie is a joke at our house. My mother in law kept forgetting that we’d already seen it, and every time she saw us she’d ask “Have you seen The Green Mile?” Pretty soon that would be the first thing my husband would say to her whenever she called…

    • The funny thing about the sweetened condensed milk is I still love it even though I found that blob in a can one time that resembled a severed finger (remember I was telling you about that the other day). Your mother in law knows a good movie when she sees it…she wanted to be fully sure that you saw an excellent movie! haha!!

  8. Melissa, I think you should have your own kids art studio; you would love it and be amazing at it too! πŸ™‚ what you did in the attic room is fun and I think you can easily recreate it in your house and if you want with white and black pictures it would be beautiful! you have the talent; use it! πŸ™‚ hope you are having a nice Sunday too! πŸ™‚

  9. That’s funny… as I was reading this, I was coming up with some of my own replies and right at the end, I saw that you tagged me! Oh, now I’ve got to actually come up with something worthy! You have stumped me Melissa!! But I will do my best…

    • I thought it would just be fun to see some of your answers since we usually only get to see your one side of cooking! If you don’t have time don’t worry about it at all! I keep forgetting to ask you if you got that job??

  10. Thanks for the condensed milk idea! That made me sooo hungry!

    Life is Beautiful is also one of my favorites. It’s such a different, beautiful and oddly uplifting take on the Holocaust.

  11. So right after I posted that last comment, I went to the kitchen to find condensed milk. We didn’t have any, so I settled for eating 4 heaping spoons of MILO (still in powder form). hahaha

      • When I was a teenager I would take poster board and make fashion collages and anything else I was into at the time. It was one of my favorite things to do!! Would be wonderful to do that now that I am an adult…or so I’ve been told πŸ™‚

        Have a great day! Love, L.

  12. Love this! (and the variety puzzles totally count as reading!!) I hope you get to own an art studio for kids. That seems like the PERFECT job for you! As soon as I have a minute to breath I will get this up on my page! πŸ™‚

  13. Pingback: Old School Blogging | go mama o

Leave a Reply

