I Heart Shrinky Dinks

I have been racking my brain trying to decide what my children should give their teachers on the last day of school. Luckily, I saw this post about homemade Shrinky Dinks from a fellow blogger over at mummyshymz! She is a homeschooling mom in Singapore and always has great ideas!

What I loved about the concept of this is that it allows you the freedom to create whatever you want!

As soon as I saw her post I went to Hobby Lobby and purchased this:

Plain sheets of Shrinky Dink plastic

Plain sheets of Shrinky Dink plastic

I then told the kids they could create key chains for their teachers!

I drew the shape they wanted and they colored whatever they wanted on it! After they were done I cut it out and punched a hole in it and put it in the oven. We put them in the oven at 325 degrees for 3 minutes and they were done!

It was an easy project and one that we all really enjoyed.

As you can see we have already made quite a few in the past few days!

our collection of Shrinky Dinks

our collection of Shrinky Dinks

One of Iris's key chains

One of my daughter’s key chains

Another one of my daughter's key chains

Another one of my daughter’s key chains

One of the key chains my son made

One of the key chains my son made

 

 

 

 

27 responses

    • Thank you Ingrid! Also, I wanted to let you know that for some reason it’s not allowing me to comment on your blog today! I tried a couple of times and it wouldn’t go through! Maybe it’s something on my end! Anyway, I really loved your side table!!

      • oh! thank you Melissa! weird isn’t it? I don’t know why this happens? I don’t even play with the settings of this blog, so weird! a couple of days ago, I wasn’t able to leave any comments on Larry’s blog, maybe it’s on my side! but thank you Melissa, I’m very happy you liked it! πŸ™‚

  1. My wife has been hyped as well when it comes to getting presents for teachers. It is another time that I am happy to be a man – I give it 0 thought. Btw, I have rarely gotten gifts as a teacher & dont expect them. Maybe, I should teach little kids.

  2. i love these for 2 reasons. one, i used to make these with my brother when we were little. two, i am a teacher and i would love these because they are made by the kids and are very personal )

    • That’s good to know Beth! Honestly, I would love to be able to afford spa packages, around the world trips, etc. for the teachers…you guys definitely deserve it! I should have contacted you when I was racking my brain to see what some of your favorite presents were that you have received!

  3. A no errors, rules, but fun activity for all to enjoy and that’s the best part. Beautiful finished projects and I like the heart very much. Thanks Melissa for sharing the links. Be Blessed, Mtetar

  4. Love the throwback to our generation–Shrinky Dinks were huge when I was growing up. My kids have never made Shrinky Dinks before. My only question is where can I purchase these? Do you think ordering them online is the best bet?

  5. These are adorable and now you know me, it brings me back to when my sisters and thought dink was a bad word. We would whisper it and then laugh. One day somebody said it in school and the teacher gave us a talking too and told us a dink was a well dressed man and you could turn anything into a bad word if you wanted too. My sisters and I thought it was what you called a boys private parts and we had no brothers. We loved that word along with cumquat. Thought we were swearing all the time.

Leave a Reply

