You Have A Broken Heart

I mentioned in a previous post my ears are often assaulted by really Dumb Arguments thanks to my kids. The other day held another fine example.

We were driving along in the van when I heard arguing brewing in the back seat. I couldn’t hear the exact dialogue but could certainly recognize the growls, sighs and high-pitch “no’s” that were being emitted.

Finally, my 7 year old daughter, Iris, let out a, “Mom!!!! Bency is emptying my bucket!!”

I immediately panicked and began frantically looking in my rear view mirror and trying to steal glances over my shoulder.

Who brought a bucket in the van????” I wailed.

What is being emptied inside the van???” I wailed again.

I envisioned hundreds of roly-poly bugs being strewn throughout the van (a usual favorite to put in buckets in our house).

I turned the volume on the radio down and Iris explained. She said that during her Life Skills class at school, her teacher told them that we all have an “internal bucket”. When someone does or says something mean to us it empties our bucket.

She then told me that Bency, our 5 year old, emptied HER bucket when he said that she “HAD A BROKEN HEART”.

I know Bency has no clue what a broken heart is and I’m assuming he learned this terminology listening to the radio because almost every song is about someone with a broken heart.

I wasn’t going to get into a lengthy conversation about “broken hearts.”

I simply told Bency, “Please quit emptying your sister’s bucket!”

For good measure I threw in, “And don’t ever bring any buckets into the van!!”

Iris emptying a bucket when she was 3 years old

39 responses

  1. Wow too funny, Brings back fond and not so fond memories of my daughters when they were growing up and the things they say. Oft times they were things they usually heard me say and then would spout them out at the most inopportune times…Usually in a mall when I would take them shopping or out to eat when they were at my house…mortified mothers would give me some of the strangest and dirtiest looks when one of my little angels blurted something out…i.e. someone forgot to get a license for that from the fashion police or a mirror really could improve their (your) image…and typically they would point at the person when they were saying “Daddy look at that person…”

      • I enjoyed the read…I can remember like it happened yesterday when my youngest, who happens to also be the mother of my first granddaughter…had gotten in trouble on christmas morning she had just turned 3 years old…I walked in to her and her older sisters room after being told the youngest wasn’t helping clean up…Now mind you I was a police officer at the time and I was getting ready for my shift…being a first year rookie I was assigned the day shift for Christmas… Me, “Young lady why aren’t helping your sister clean the room?” Her “Its not my mess, I’m not doing it!” Me “What did you say.” Her “I have the right to stay silent.” Me “What I’m not arresting you, but I will swat your butt if you don’t get in there” Her “You touch me and I’m gonna call the police!”

        By this time I hear two sets of grandparents in the background along with their mom laughing their butts off.And talk about playing into the hands of a three year old. Me, “What do you think I am and what do you think this uniform means?” Her “Not you, you’re a cop and you’re my daddy. I’m gonna call 911 and have a “Real Policeman” come arrest you!”

        I walked out of the house with 5 adults laughing at me and a little girl standing there in the living room defiantly with her hands on her hips… Moral of this story…never argue with a 3 year old Capricorn girl child on Christmas Day…she’s been arguing with me ever since.

  2. Pingback: Memories Fond and Not So Fond of a Father, now Grandfather « poeticcreole

Leave a comment