Who Am I?

I love starting my days off early.

I love books.

I love making noise.

I love asking questions.

I don’t like the word “no.”

I love helping people, whether they want me to or not.

I love opening the refrigerator door and closing it and then opening and closing it over and over and over.

I love pushing buttons (both figuratively and literally).

I love running.

I love practicing my facial expressions and deciding which ones work best to manipulate people. (I have come to the conclusion that a slight cock to the head, a smile and fluttering my eyelashes generally works best).

I have figured out how to use Netflix and don’t need help from anyone to find my favorite shows.

I love watching other people go to the bathroom.

I love everyone with reckless abandon and am not afraid to show it.

Q: Who am I?

A: I am a 2 year old

I am 2 year old

 

50 responses

  1. I was a little worried that you were talking about yourself when you mentioned that you enjoy watching other people use the facilities. I’m glad you cleared that up. LOL!

    Before I knew that you were talking about Cesar (or almost any other 2-year-old), I had visions of you dragging some old woman across the street and yelling, “Let me help you. Please. Let me help you!”

    Great post!

  2. I would just add “unless I am the one saying it” to the ‘I don’t like the word NO’ part and “but I would rather hide in the corner to do my business” to the ‘I like watching other people go to the bathroom’ part! haha!

    • Oh, yes ABSOLUTELY! There is no reasoning with them…if they don’t want to do something it’s just “no.” I wish I had Cesar’s refusal skills. He sticks to his guns. There is no way he could be coerced into making 72 cupcakes for school…then there’s me who just can’t no!

  3. Good stuff, Melissa! You nailed the nuances of a toddler. I especially liked the part about Cesar learning to navigate Netflix. Talk about Mr. Independent! What a cutie!

    • It will be interesting to find out if your third is the “independent” child or if this was just going to be his natural characteristic. I know my other kids didn’t do half of the things that he is doing at this age!

  4. You had me going for a minute when it came to the watching other people go to the bathroom part! Apparently we all have a little bit of 2 year old inside of us! 😉 Aren’t toddlers great!

  5. OMG, I am totally, totally laughing, because of course I assumed this was about you. When I got to the “enjoy watching people go to the bathroom” I was like…well, each to their own?

    Haha, love it! Love this! x

  6. You had me going there… I wondered why you liked to open and close the refrigerator door over and over and over. Who are you trying to annoy is what came to mind! Good one!

  7. Substitute ‘Mummy’s baking cupboard’ for ‘refrigerator’ and ‘Grandad’s iPad’ for ‘Netflix’ and you’ve described my son exactly!

    • Isn’t it funny how even though every kid is different…they all carry so many of those same mindsets at that time period! And it is amazing how smart these kids are that they can figure out all of this technical stuff. I still struggle with a lot of it!

    • Thanks Ingrid! It is amazing that kids at that age can be so strikingly similar. Cesar has plenty of personality traits that are different than his sister and brother but there is always some things that every toddler has in common!

    • That is a great idea Stephanie! I am glad I inspired that with that photo that caused me so much angst. I worked on that thing for an hour and was getting so frustrated. The photo was going to be the only thing that I was going to post and then I realized that no one was going to be able to read it and I finally threw up my hands and said enough already I’m just writing the thing out and adding the photo. I clearly lack in technical patience and perfectionism.

  8. He loves watching people go to the bathroom? Hmm. I actually remember one of my little cousins watch me go to the bathroom. I was at a urinal and he was clearly curious. Those days I though it was weird and was a bit uncomfortable but now and probably even then I realize it was curiosity.

    • Larry, I’m surprised that your boys didn’t go through this…I thought this was an across the board characteristic of all toddlers. You’re lucky you didn’t have to deal with this annoyance. Not only does he have to be in there but he likes to help with the flushing and slamming the lid shut as well….I draw the line at helping with the wiping!

  9. Pingback: Who Am I? | They Say it's in the Genes

    • Thanks Joan! That is actually a really excellent idea! It would be really cool to flip through a book full of those! It would be a lot of work to go back and do that now for the older kids but it actually would be a lot of fun! Thanks for the great idea!

  10. “I love watching other people go to the bathroom” lol!!! I already can nto pee in peace (my two cats open the door and stare at me) I can only imagine once my 6 month old can crawl/walk whats going to happen. buh bye privacy!

    • haha!! Absolutely…you will have a triple threat on your hands! It’s amazing how my kid can be playing so intently and I can try to sneak into the bathroom quietly but he has super “bathroom occupied” radar!!

  11. My daughter Brooke says it is like a family meeting when she has to go to the bathroom. I loved this Melissa, it brought back days no privacy and then when you have it cleaning up the mess that was your present for getting it.. Don’t worry he won’t be two forever, we have just as much fun with the threes.

    • Hi Liz! Family meeting is the perfect term for these occasions! We only have one bathroom plus it’s the smallest room in our house but yet it’s not uncommon for us all to be jammed in there at once! I hope you are recovering well from your surgery!

Leave a Reply

